Golf News

A US Open contender receives a violation

Due to a “nailed” drop on the third hole in the third round of the US Open, Ludwig Aberg made the main birdie.

Alex Slitz/Getty Images

At the US Open at Pinehurst, outside of the traditional fairways, you’re at the mercy of any lies you draw on the traditional fairways. So, naturally, it takes a bit of luck to win the US Open here.

Ludvig Aberg found something else after his tee shot on Saturday’s 3rd hole.

The USGA has increased the tees on the par-4 3rd to just 316 yards to entice players to the green during the third round. All but five did, and three even found a place to put their drives.

Aberg, the 36-hole leader playing in his first US Open and just his third major, was part of the crowd, but he twice missed his 3-wood and sent his ball left. the fairway faces the traditional fairway and rope grass.

“You have to be lucky here,” said NBC analyst Brad Faxon.

The ball took a few balls from the short grass, then rolled into the sand, about 50 yards left of the hole. But thankfully for Aberg, there was a grandstand in front of where his ball finally came to rest.

You shall be entitled to sight line relief from Temporary Movable Obstruction under Rule 16.1 and Model Local Rule F-23.

“He might get back on the fairway there,” Faxon said. “You can see where the hole is. He is very high.”

golfer michelle wie west with her partner during the 2014 us women's open

What is the key to winning at Pinehurst? Explains the old master


Zephyr Melton

Faxon was right. Within one club length from the fairway near Aberg, and close to the hole, was a short stretch of grass. But there was a catch, pointed out by academic reporter Jim “Bones” Mackay.

“This is a very important drop here because this ball has a chance to kick back towards his home area,” said Mackay.

Aberg dropped his ball. It didn’t roll an inch.

“He ignored it,” said Mackay.

Instead of facing the possibility of sandy lies or fence grass, Aberg had a perfect fairway lie with 49 yards to the pin and plenty of green to work with.

“If that ball comes back another five or six inches, you’re looking to make a play out,” Mackay said.

Aberg didn’t hit the fairway very well, putting it to the middle of the green and out to 30 feet, but he still had the birdie putt.

The birdie gave Aberg two shots as he pulled to one under on the day and six under for the tournament. But he quickly reversed that luck with a bogey on the 4th and fell into a tie for the lead at 5 under. You can follow the last round here.

Jack Hirsh Editor

Jack Hirsh is an assistant editor at GOLF. A native of Pennsylvania, Jack is a 2020 graduate of Penn State University, earning degrees in broadcast journalism and political science. He was the captain of his high school golf team and recently returned to the program to serve as the head coach. Jack is also *still* trying to stay competitive with the local novices. Before joining GOLF, Jack spent two years working at a TV station in Bend, Oregon, primarily as a reporter/multimedia reporter, but also producing, anchoring and presenting even the weather. He can be reached at

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button