Golf News

Golf Business News – IR&A unveils 2025 tournament schedule

Famous venues in Great Britain and Ireland and beyond will host The R&A’s novice and international competitions in 2025.

The 130th Amateur Championship will be played at the iconic south-east English venues Royal St George’s – which will host The Open 15 times – and the Royal Cinque Ports from 16-21 June, with the semi-finals on 13 in June.

Harry Ellis won when the Amateur Championship was last held at Royal St George’s in 2017, while the Royal Cinque Ports – which hosted The Open in 1909 and 1920 – also hosted The Amateur as recently as 2013 when Garrick Porteous won.

The world’s best women’s players will head to the Highlands of Scotland as Nairn – the site of The Amateur in 2021 – hosts the 122nd Women’s Amateur Championship from 9-14 June. Broadcaster Maureen Madill took the title when Nairn last hosted the Championship in 1979.

The Walker Cup, an annual meet between the best male students from GB&I and the USA, takes place at Cypress Point in California from 6-7 September 2025 with Dean Robertson as the visiting captain.

Johnnie Cole-Hamilton, Executive Director – Competitions at The R&A, said, “It is important to strengthen the R&A’s junior championships and internationals as the premier events in junior golf around the world.

“We want to attract the best players from around the world to compete, so it is only fitting that our tournaments and international games are hosted in some of the best venues in the world in 2025.”

The R&A Girls’ and Boys’ Amateur Championships will be held in Conwy and County Louth respectively in August, while the R&A Girls’ U16 Amateur Championship will be held in Gog Magog in April. The R&A Women’s and Men’s Championships will be played simultaneously at Walton Heath in July.

A number of other international matches between GB&I and continental Europe will also be taking place. The St Andrews Trophy will be held at the Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro in Spain in July, while the Royal Hague Golf & Country Club in the Netherlands will host the Vagliano and Junior Vagliano trophies for women and girls last month. The men’s equivalent of the Jacques Léglise Trophy will be played in August at the Royal Golf Club of Belgium.

The Walker Cup and St Andrews Trophy which are played in the same year are part of the restructuring, which will see the Walker Cup move to even years from 2026 and the St Andrews Trophy to odd years from 2025.

Please visit to view the full 2025 event calendar.

Nairn will host the 122nd Women’s Amateur Championship in 2025

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button