Cricket News

Jemimah Rodrigues Shikha Pandey has signed up for the Womens Caribbean Premier League

India batsman Jemimah Rodrigues and fast bowler Shikha Pandey will play for Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) in the 2024 Women’s Caribbean Premier League season. Australian batsman Meg Lanning and left-arm bowler Jess Jonassen are the other international players in the TKR squad ahead of the upcoming squad selection later this month.

“This is my first time coming to the WCPL. I have played for India in the Caribbean for a bit, but I am very happy that I will represent the Knight Riders in the WCPL,” Rodrigues said. “We all know the legacy they have around the world. Even the TKR Women’s team, the 2022 champions, are a very proud team. I believe this tournament will serve as a great preparation for us leading up to the Women’s. World T20 in October, with the best players in the world who participated in this competition.”

TKR retained five players from the 2023 squad – Deandra Dottin, Shamila Connell, Kycia Knight, Zaida James and Samara Ramnath – and have six more to close to complete the 15-man squad. They are the winners of the first edition in 2022.

“We are delighted to be able to retain the core of our local Caribbean players and register four world-renowned international players for this year’s CPL,” said Venky Mysore, CEO of Knight Riders Group, in a statement. “It is great that Deandra Dottin is the captain of the team again. She has been a great leader of the team since the year of its foundation, she has played an important role as a captain and a player since we won the title in 2022.

“Jemimah Rodrigues and Shikha Pandey will add volumes to the tournament level, and we are very grateful to the BCCI for giving them their WCPL debut. The addition of these two big names from India, along with stars Meg Lanning and Jess Jonassen should delight cricket fans around the world overall, as we look forward to welcoming you all to TKR’s red and black in August.”

This year’s CPL will be held in Trinidad from August 21 to 29, with all seven matches played at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy. The 2024 season will feature TKR, Guyana Amazon Warriors and defending champions Barbados Royals.

Trinbago Knight Riders team previously listed

Deandra Dottin, Meg Lanning, Jess Jonassen, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shikha Pandey, Kycia Knight, Shamila Connell, Zaida James, Samara Ramnath

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button