Cricket News

Netizens react as brilliant Abhishek Sharma powers India to victory over Zimbabwe in 2nd T20I

In the second T20I of India’s tour of Zimbabwe 2024 at the Harare Sports Club, Indian team put in an impressive performance, securing a resounding 100-run victory Zimbabwe. After winning the toss, India elected to bat first, posting an impressive total of 234/2 in 20 overs.

Abhishek Sharma scores a stunning century

Abhishek Sharma was the star of India’s innings, smashing a brilliant century. He scored 100 runs in just 47 balls, including 7 fours and 8 sixes. His aggressive approach set the tone for India’s innings. Ruturaj Gaikwad provided solid support with a well-built 77 off 47 balls, including 11 boundaries and a six. Rinku Singha blast of 48 off 22 balls, with 2 fours and 5 sixes, continued to strengthen India’s innings, helping them to bowl a huge total.

The Zimbabwean bowlers struggled to stop the Indian batsmen. Blessing Muzarabani he was the most economical, conceding 30 runs and taking one wicket in his four overs. Wellington Masakadza managed to get one more wicket but conceded 29 runs in his two overs. Other bowlers are classified as Indian batsmen, with Luke Jongwe again Dion Myers being more expensive, giving away 53 and 28 runs respectively.

Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar stopped the Zimbabwean batsmen

Chasing 235, Zimbabwe failed and were bowled out for 134 runs in 18.4 overs. Wesley Madhevere top score for the hosts with 43 runs from 39 balls, hitting 3 fours and a six. Brian Bennett played a brief cameo, scoring 26 off 9 balls with 1 four and 3 sixes. Jonge added 33 in 26 balls, but the good batsmen faced the Indian bowling attack.

Indian bowlers have been very impressive, they have Avesh Khan again Mukesh Kumar leading scorers, each getting three wickets. Avesh’s spell was very economical, conceding just 15 runs in his three overs. Ravi Bishnoi and contributed heavily with figures of 2/11 in his four overs, then Washington Sundar came in with the wicket, giving away 28 runs in his four overs.

Abhishek’s performance with the bat earned him the Player of the Match award. His century not only put a huge value on India but also put Zimbabwe under a lot of pressure right from the start.

ALSO READ: Suryakumar Yadav praises Abhishek Sharma after maiden T20I century – ZIM vs IND

Here’s how netizens reacted:

UPDATE: Fans erupt as Abhishek Sharma becomes first Indian to smash T20I century against Zimbabwe

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button