Cricket News

New Zealand Cricket announces mid-term contracts for the 2024-25 season

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced its mid-term contract list for the 2024-25 season, with several new faces getting their first international contracts. The 20-man roster includes a mix of established stars and emerging talent, reflecting the depth and diversity of New Zealand’s cricket world.

Rachin Ravindra gets first contract

A bold installation is an all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who has been handed his first NZC central contract. Ravindra’s breakthrough year with the national team was recognized after he emerged as the star of the team. 2023 ODI World Cup in India, he scored 578 runs.

The 24-year-old then made his mark on the Test circuit, hitting a 240-wicket century. South Africa in February—highest in a New Zealand batter at first. Ravindra’s rise was again rewarded when he was named ICC Young Player of the Year in 2023 and became the youngest recipient ever Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

Ravindra, in a press release from NZC, said, “Growing up, you’d see those contract lists come out every year and think it would be great to be on that list one day—and it’s only a matter of time before it happens. It’s been a cool last 12 months playing international cricket. I’ve learned a lot, and the hunger is definitely there to continue to improve and deliver for the Blackcaps.

New faces and returning players

Joining Ravindra as a new face in the contract list is Wellington Ben Searsin Canterbury Is O’Rourkeand that of Otago Jacob Duffy. Sears, who played 11 T20Is for New Zealand last season, received his first middle-order contract after making his Test debut against Australia earlier this year. O’Rourke’s contract comes after he represented New Zealand in every way in the last 12 months, including taking nine wickets in the first Test against South Africa.

Duffy gets his first international contract 12 years after making his domestic debut. Ajaz Patel, the left-arm spinner, has also been included in the list after missing out during the previous cycle.

Notable absentees

The contract list sees high turnover, including the former captain Kane Williamsonfast bowler Lockie Fergusonagain Adam Milne, who made himself unavailable for the upcoming season. Veteran speedster Neil Wagner he was also left out after retiring from international cricket in February.

UPDATE: Kane Williamson steps down as New Zealand captain and turns down mid-2024-25 contract

Players with contracts and salaries

The 20 players who have been given contracts during the 2024-25 season are:

  1. Finn Allen
  2. Tom Blundell
  3. Michael Bracewell
  4. Mark Chapman
  5. Devon Conway
  6. Jacob Duffy
  7. Matt Henry,
  8. Kyle Jamieson
  9. Tom Latham
  10. Daryl Mitchell
  11. Henry Nicholls
  12. Is O’Rourke
  13. Ajaz Patel
  14. Glenn Phillips
  15. Rachin Ravindra
  16. Mitchell Santner
  17. Ben Sears
  18. Ish Sodhi
  19. Tim Southee
  20. Will Young

Although the specific salaries of each player have not been disclosed, average NZC contracts typically range from NZ$200,000 to NZ$600,000 per year, depending on the player’s experience, performance, and role in the national team.

ALSO READ: BCCI announces Gautam Gambhir as India’s new coach

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button