Cricket News

Pakistan unveil 15-member squad for 2024 T20 World Cup; Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim returns

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Friday, announced the much-anticipated 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup, which is expected to be held next month in the West Indies and the USA. Add a star Babar Azam he was given the responsibility of leading the Men in Green in the global event of the show.

Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim returns

Veteran pace bowler Mohammad Amir and you have complete knowledge Imad Wasim they have returned to the national team. Notably, both the stars recently returned to Pakistan’s squad for the tour of Ireland and England and were expected to retain their places.

Choice of essentials and exclusions

The list includes eight players from the 2022 World Cup squad, while five will be making their debut in this year’s T20 World Cup. Newcomers like Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayubagain Usman Khan he will be joining the team for the first time in this world championship.

It is worth noting that there are no rotating ones Salman Ali Agha and a fast bowler Muhammad Irfan Khanwho were part of the recent series against Ireland and England. Harris Raufwho recently recovered from his shoulder, is still in the team, and Hasan Aliwho had been called to the Irish tour, was left out.

ALSO READ: ICC names brand ambassadors for T20 World Cup 2024 and unveils official anthem for global events

PCB exuded confidence in its selected squad, highlighting a mix of experienced and young players. The board also emphasized Rauf’s readiness and potential contribution.

“This is a very talented and balanced side with a mix of youth and experience. These players have been playing together for some time and they look well prepared and settled for next month’s event. Haris Rauf is fully fit and bowls well in the nets. It would have been nice if he had been dropped at Headingley, but we hope he will continue to improve in the coming matches, as he will have an important role to play with other bowlers in the World T20. cup,” PCB said in a statement.

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

ALSO READ: Graeme Swann names 2024 T20 World Cup semi finals

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button