Hockey News

Stars’ Jim Nill Wins GM of the Year Award – Hockey Writers – Dallas Stars

The NHL has announced that Dallas Stars general manager Jim Nill has won the 2024 Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award, given annually to the general manager (GM) who performs best at the position during the regular season. Dallas won the Central Division with 52 wins and 113 points in the standings.

Neal becomes just the second GM to win the award in consecutive seasons, joining New York Islanders GM Lou Lamoriello (2020, 2021). He received more first place votes than the other finalists. Also, he ranked in the top three in 34 out of 42 votes.

Going into the season, Dallas was viewed as one of the best teams in the NHL. Nill was with Dallas for 11 seasons, building the program from top to bottom. The team’s three goalscorers and the starting goalkeeper were brought in by Nill. His biggest move of the 2023-24 season was to acquire defenseman Chris Tanev from the Calgary Flames.

The award is a regular season award, so the Stars’ Western Conference Finals appearance did not affect the voting results. Although the team failed to achieve its ultimate goal of winning the Stanley Cup, the season still brought great success thanks to Nill’s work. With a busy season ahead, Dallas is likely to learn from their mistakes and improve next season.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button