Cricket News

T20 World Cup 2024 – India and Australia in the same Super Eight group

Six of the 20 teams have advanced to the Super Eight stage of the 2024 T20 World Cup, with India (A1), Australia (B2), and Afghanistan (C1) in Group 1, with the USA (A2), West Indies (C2 ) and South Africa (D1) in Group 2. Teams are assigned to A1, B1 and so on not by where they finished in their group but by pre-tournament rankings.

After the USA confirmed their exit from the Super Eight in Group A following their loss to Ireland, England and Bangladesh are the frontrunners to take the remaining two spots, B1 and D2 respectively, although there are still other groups. The first round ends on June 17, and the Super Eight stage begins on June 19.

The first match of the Super Eight will be between South Africa and the USA, in Antigua. The West Indies will face the second Group B team in St Lucia on the evening of June 19, before India and Afghanistan begin their Super Eight matches on June 20 in Barbados.

Australia will face the second group that will enter Group D in Antigua on the evening of June 20, while South Africa will play the second group B on June 21 in St Lucia.

Complete Super Eight fixtures can be accessed here.

No points or run-rate advantage is carried forward from the first round to the Super Eight stage, where all teams will start on a draw. The top two teams from each Super Eight group will advance to the semi-finals.

The first semi-final is in Trinidad on June 26, the second semi-final is in Guyana on June 27. If India reach the semi-finals, they will play in Guyana. The T20 World Cup final is scheduled for June 29, in Barbados.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button