Hockey News

Vancouver Canucks’ Rick Tocchet Wins Jack Adams Award – Hockey Writers – NHL News

Vancouver Canucks head coach, Rick Tocchet, won the 2024 Jack Adams Award, given to the coach who is considered to have contributed the most to his team’s success. This should come as no surprise to fans who saw the Canucks win the Pacific Division with 109 points, 26 points more than last season.

Tocchet, who made the finals for the first time since Jack Adams, is the third in Canucks history, trailing Pat Quinn in 1991-92 and Alain Vigneault in 2006-07. This is incredibly impressive for Tocchet who is in his first full season as the club’s head coach. He previously coached the Tampa Bay Lightning and Arizona Coyotes, with a 248-235-73 regular season record and an 11-11 record in the playoffs.

Tocchet led the Canucks in an NHL-best first-half goal differential (+38) and kept the team in good form late in games, going 42-1-4 when leading after two seasons. This was the most in the League, doubling the team’s total from 2022 to 23 (21-1-4).

In the polls, Tocchet won in a landslide, appearing in the top three with 109 out of 114 votes. Also, he received 82 first-place votes and 483 points in the voting system. Second place was awarded to Nashville Predators coach Andrew Brunette followed by retired Winnipeg Jets coach Rick Bowness.

While the Canucks’ season may be over, it’s been a successful season for a team that isn’t guaranteed to make the playoffs. Given a strong core and a surplus of young talent, the team should continue its success in the coming seasons with Tocchet at the helm.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button