Cricket News

West Indies player, Jason Holder, ruled out of T20 World Cup 2024; replacement announced

The West Indies cricket team has suffered a major loss as it is an important player of the run Jason Holder released next time ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 due to injuries. The Caribbean team will begin their campaign against Papua New Guinea on Sunday (June 02).

Injuries during the district tournament

Notably, Holder was injured while playing in the County Championship Worcestershire, where he had just hit a centenary. The official announcement from Cricket West Indies (CWI) did not specify the details of Holder’s injury or the estimated time required for his recovery.

“Jason is an experienced player in our system. His absence will undoubtedly be felt on and off the pitch. We look forward to having Jason fully fit again soon.” Said the great selector Desmond Haynes in a press release.

READ MORE: T20 World Cup 2024, Warm-up Matches – Date, Time, Venues & Teams

A replacement is named

Bambi’s place in the team has been filled by a left-arm bowler Obed McCoy, who is currently participating in the T20I series against South Africa. Despite Holder’s absence, CWI remains optimistic about the team’s prospects with the addition of McCoy.

“While it is unfortunate to lose a player of Jason’s caliber, we have confidence in Obed McCoy’s abilities. Obed has shown incredible skill and promise in his playing style, and this opportunity will allow him to continue to showcase his talent on the international stage. We believe that he will bring new energy to the squad,” Haynes added.

Reserve players announced

In addition to announcing Holder’s replacement, CWI also named five retained players: Kyle Mayers, Matthew Forde, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walshagain Andre Fletcherto cover possible injuries to the main squad of 15 players.

West Indies Squad for 2024 T20 World Cup (Revised):

Rovman Powell (capt), Alzarri Joseph (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shai Hope, Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Obed McCoy, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie, Sherfane Rutherford

Places to visit: Kyle Mayers, Matthew Forde, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh, Andre Fletcher

ALSO WATCH: Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and other Indian players go to USA ahead of T20 World Cup 2024; Virat Kohli is missing

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button